California Occupational License
Department of Public Health
Clinical Laboratory Scientist License
Division for Health Care Quality
Laboratory Field Services
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||850 Marina Bay Parkway, Building P
Richmond, CA 94804
| Phone Number:
| E-mail Address:
| Internet Address:
Fees: Application: $203.00
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Requirements: Official transcript with Baccalaureate Degree posted with course requirements, 16 semester or equivalent quarter units of chemistry, including instruction in analytical and biological chemistry. 18 semester or equivalent units of biological science including instruction in immunology, hematology and medical microbiology. 3 semester or equivalent quarter units of physics including lights and electricity.
Examination: Must pay seperate for American Association of Bioanalyst (ABB) and American Society of Clinical Pathology (ASCP) and ASCP International
Renewal: 24 units/hours of Continuing Education every 2 years.
Average Time to Process Application: 150 days (5 months).
Comments: Clinical laboratory practice as defined by law in clinical laboratories.
Authority: Business and Professions Code, Division 2, Chapter 3, Section 1200-1322. California Code of Regulations, Title 17. California Code of Regulations, Title 19, Section 1032.
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Medical Scientists, Except Epidemiologists ||191042 |