Skip to Main Content
Employment Development Department
Employment Development Department

Metropolitan Areas in California

Labor Market Information Resources and Data: Home | By Customer | By Subject | By Geography | Data Library | Online Services

On February 28, 2013, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) announced an update to statistical area delineations based on the application of the new standards to data from the 2010 Census. Please note that Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Metropolitan Divisions, and Micropolitan Statistical Areas throughout this website are commonly referred to as Metropolitan Areas.

Metropolitan Area Definition and Delineations

OMB establishes and maintains the delineations of Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Metropolitan Divisions, and Micropolitan Statistical Areas solely for statistical purposes. These new Metropolitan Areas become the standard geographic areas for which economic data are produced by cooperative programs of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The 2010 standards replace and supersede the 2000 standards for defining Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas. OMB's 2010 standards provide for the identification of the following types of statistical areas in California:

Back to Top

Current Metropolitan Area List

Metropolitan Area County
Anaheim-Santa Ana-Irvine MD Orange County
Bakersfield MSA Kern County
Chico MSA
Butte County
El Centro MSA
Imperial County
Fresno MSA
Fresno County
Hanford-Corcoran MSA
Kings County
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD
Los Angeles County
Madera MSA
Madera County
Merced MSA
Merced County
Modesto MSA
Stanislaus County
Napa MSA
Napa County
Oakland-Hayward-Berkeley MD
Alameda and Contra Costa Counties
Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura MSA
Ventura County
Redding MSA
Shasta County
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario MSA
Riverside and San Bernardino Counties
Sacramento--Roseville--Arden-Arcade MSA
El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, and Yolo Counties
Salinas MSA
Monterey County
San Diego-Carlsbad MSA
San Diego County
San Francisco-Redwood City-South San Francisco MD*
San Francisco and San Mateo Counties*
San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA
San Benito and Santa Clara Counties
San Luis Obispo-Paso Robles-Arroyo Grande MSA
San Luis Obispo County
San Rafael MD
Marin County
Santa Cruz-Watsonville MSA
Santa Cruz County
Santa Maria-Santa Barbara MSA
Santa Barbara County
Santa Rosa MSA
Sonoma County
Stockton-Lodi MSA
San Joaquin County
Vallejo-Fairfield MSA
Solano County
Visalia-Porterville MSA
Tulare County
Yuba City MSA
Sutter and Yuba Counties

* If data for this area continue to include Marin County, the old term (San Francisco-San Mateo-Redwood City MD) is used.

Back to Top

Historical Metropolitan Areas

For a historical metropolitan area listing for California and other states visit the U.S. Census Bureau Historical Metropolitan Area MSA summary page.

Back to Top