California Occupational License

License Title:
    Driving School Instructor License
Return to Occupation Profile
Licensing Agency:
     Department of Motor Vehicles
     Occupational Licensing
     The Individuals

Licensing Agency Contact Information:
     Address: P.O. Box 932342, MS-L224
Sacramento,  CA  94232 - 3420

     Phone Number: (916) 229-3128
     Fax Number: (916) 229-4728

     Internet Address:

License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
Persons instructing others in the operation of motor vehicles for compensation.

Fees: Application: $30; Renewal: $30; Reinstatement: $30; Transfer or duplicate: $15; Additional: $30; Family support: $1.

Examination Frequency: Written and medical examinations on initial application and every three years (18 hours of continuous professional education can be substitute for the subsequent written exams).

Exam Locations: Multiple

Experience Requirement: High school education or equivalent.

Average Time to Process Application: 120 days to allow for background investigation. May issue temporary permit (see miscellaneous section at the end).

Renewal Period: Three years following date of issuance.

Special License Requirements: Be 21 years of age or older; hold a valid California driver’s license; pass background investigation; pass physical examination; be employed by a licensed driving school; have a driving record which does not contain an outstanding notice for violating a written promise to appear in court or for willfully failing to pay a lawfully imposed fine; have satisfactorily completed a course in the teaching of driver education and driver training acceptable to the department; pass the required written examination.

Comments: Applications and information for driving school instructor may be downloaded from our website at or obtained from Occupational Licensing, P.O. Box 932342 Sacramento, CA 94232-3420 or call (916) 229-3128.

Authority: Vehicle Code, Sections 310.4, 1651, 11100 to 11114; California Code of Regulations, Title 13, Section 50.40-50.45 and 340.00 to 344.34; Government Code 6157 (a-d).
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Occupation TitleSOC Code
Self-Enrichment Education Teachers 253021