Information for the License:

Emergency Medical Tech, Advanced EMT Cert., & Paramedic License


Licensing Agency:

Agency or Department Name:  Emergency Medical Services Authority
Board or Council Name:  Emergency Medical Services Personnel Division
Division Name: Paramedic Program
Telephone:  (916) 323-9875
Agency Web Address:  http://www.emsa.ca.gov

License Description:
     (Always confirm this information with the licensing agency.)

All persons acting as emergency medical care personnel providing prehospital life support must be certified as an EMT, AEMT (Advanced EMT) or licensed as an EMT-P, depending on skill level. EMTs and AEMTs (Advanced EMTs) are certified by local EMS agencies or approved public safety agencies. EMT-Paramedics are licensed by the State of California Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMSA).

Fees: For EMT and AEMT (Advanced EMT) varies according to local emergency medical services agency (county or region of counties) or approved public safety agency.

For EMT-P:
Examination: $110 payable to National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT).

Initial Licensure for In-State Applicants: $250 or Out-of-State Applicants: $300.

Relicensure: $200.

Fingerprinting: $32 Dept. of Justice only or $51 Dept. of Justice & FBI.

Examination Frequency: Varies.

Exam Locations: Various locations throughout the State.

Experience Requirement: EMT must be 18 years of age and have an EMT course completion record; AEMT (Advanced EMT) must be currently certified as an EMT, with at least one year of experience; EMT-P must be currently certified as an EMT with additional experience and training.

Average Time to Process Application: Varies from county to county for EMT & AEMT (Advanced EMT); 2 - 4 weeks for EMT-P.

Renewal Period: Every 2 years.

Special License Requirements: Persons operating private ambulance services must be licensed by the California Highway Patrol; private ambulance drivers must be licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles; all new applicants for EMT or AEMT (Advanced EMT) will have to be fingerprinted for a state and federal background check.

Authority: Health & Safety Code, Division 2.5, implementing statute.
Regulations for EMTs appear in California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 9.