Home Labor Market Information Metropolitan Areas in California

Metropolitan Areas in California

Select a Metropolitan Area from below to see the data links for that specific Metropolitan Area. The counties that make up the Metropolitan Area are shown in parenthesis.

Every ten years after the federal decennial census, the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) reviews the commute patterns and economic dependencies between counties. The general concept of these areas is one of a large population nucleus, together with adjacent communities that have a high degree of economic and social integration with that nucleus.

Using the data from the 2000 census, the OMB revised or created new Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA) across the country. These new Metropolitan Areas become the standard geographic areas for which economic data are produced by cooperative programs of the Bureau of Labor Statistics. OMB's 2000 standards provide for the identification of the following types of statistical areas in California:

  • Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA) have at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties.

  • Metropolitan Divisions (MD) - If the specified criteria are met, a Metropolitan Statistical Area containing a single core with a population of 2.5 million or more may be subdivided to form smaller groupings of counties referred to as Metropolitan Divisions.

  • In California, there are four Metropolitan Divisions that combine into two MSA, one in Southern California and the other in the Bay Area. The EDD will publish data at the Metropolitan Division level to maintain the same geographic configuration for these two MSA that is currently published. Data for the two MSA will be published at the BLS Web site. The MSA and their Metropolitan Divisions are:

    • Los Angeles-Long Beach-Santa Ana MSA
      Los-Angeles-Long Beach-Glendale MD
      (Los Angeles County)
      Santa Ana-Anaheim-Irvine MD
      (Orange County)

      San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont MSA
      San Francisco-San Mateo-Redwood City MD
      (Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties)
      Oakland-Fremont-Hayward MD
      (Alameda and Contra Costa Counties)

  • Micropolitan Statistical Areas – a new set of statistical areas - have at least one urban cluster of at least 10,000 but less than 50,000 population, plus adjacent territory that has a high degree of social and economic integration with the core as measured by commuting ties. Defined as one or more contiguous counties. Data for these areas will be identified for the counties rather than for the Micropolitan Statistical Area.

    • Bishop Micro. SA (Inyo County)
      Clearlake Micro. SA (Lake County)
      Crescent City Micro. SA (Del Norte County)
      Eureka-Arcata-Fortuna Micro. SA (Humboldt County)
      Phoenix Lake-Cedar Ridge Micro. SA (Tuolumne County)
      Red Bluff Micro. SA (Tehama County)
      Truckee-Grass Valley Micro. SA (Nevada County)
      Ukiah Micro. SA (Mendocino County)

  • Combined Statistical Areas (CSA) - adjacent Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas, in various combinations, may become the components of a new set of areas called Combined Statistical Areas, if specified criteria are met. The EDD produces data for the MSA components of the CSA, not the CSA itself.

  • 1990 Metropolitan Area definitions