California Occupational License
Department of Motor Vehicles
Commercial Driver License
Licensing Operations Division
Commercial Licensing Policy Section
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||P.O. Box 932345, MS-J152
Sacramento, CA 94232 - 3450
| Phone Number:
| Internet Address:
Persons operating a commercial vehicle for a fee. Persons operating buses are also required to obtain a commercial driver license.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Application: $71 for Class A or B
Class C: $42
Examination Frequency: Vision, knowledge (law), and performance tests must be completed in twelve months from the date of application. Medical exam required.
Exam Locations: See Information and Applications. The written exam can be taken at any DMV office. However, the driving test can only be taken at selected offices. See the DMV Web site for a list.
Experience Requirement: Must be 18 years of age; 21 years for interstate commerce and meet licensing requirements.
Average Time to Process Application: Driving tests average two hours to complete.
Renewal Period: Five year renewal cycle.
Special License Requirements: See the California Commercial Driver Handbook, Section 1 (Additional Requirements).
Comments: The California Commercial Driver Handbook is available at the nearest DMV field office by telephone at 1-(800)777-0133 or on the DMV Web site at www.dmv.ca.gov.
Authority: See the California Commercial Driver Handbook, Section 1 (State Laws and Rules).
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Truck Drivers, Heavy and Tractor-Trailer ||533032 |