California Occupational License
Department of Consumer Affairs
Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT), License
Board of Behavioral Sciences
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||1625 N Market Blvd., Suite S-200
Sacramento, CA 95834
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| E-mail Address:
| Internet Address:
Private practitioners in counseling.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Fees: Initial Application and Standard written Examination: $200
Initial License (Max): $130
Re-Examination (Standard): $100
Clinical Vignette Written: $100; Re-Examination: $100.
Examination Frequency: Standard Written - Continuous Administration.
Clinical Vignette Written - Continuous Administrations.
Exam Locations: Multiple.
Experience Requirement: Doctor’s or Master’s degree containing specific course content and completion of specific coursework or training, 3000 hours experience under direct supervision of authorized supervisor.
Average Time to Process Application: Allow 120 days.
Renewal Period: Every 2 years.
Special License Requirements: Completion of courses in California law and professional ethics, completion of courses in child abuse assessment and reporting, human sexuality, chemical substance dependency, spousal or partner abuse; fingerprint clearance through the Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation; take and pass examinations.
Authority: California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 18, Section 1800, et seq. Business and Professions Code, Chapter 13, Division 2, Section 4980 et seq.
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Marriage and Family Therapists ||211013 |