California Occupational License
Department of Consumer Affairs
Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), License
Board of Behavioral Sciences
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||1625 N Market Blvd., Suite S-200
Sacramento, CA 95834
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| E-mail Address:
| Internet Address:
Persons engaging in private practice in clinical social work.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Fees: ASW Registration Application: $75; Annual Renewal: $75
Initial Application: $100
Initial License (Max): $100
California Law & Ethics Exam: Taken as an ASW Registrant
Exam Location: Multiple Locations through Exam Vendor
Clinical Exam: ASWB Clinical Exam (taken through the Association of Social Work Boards)
Exam Locations: Multiple.
All required supervised experience gained in California must be accrued while registered with the Board as an Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW).
Experience Requirement: Master’s degree from accredited school or department of social work, 2 years of supervised postgraduate experience with no less than 3200 hours.
Examination Information: Once applicant meets all requirements and the Board reviews and approves the application for examination eligibility, the applicant will receive an eligibility notice to take the LCSW Standard Written Examination.
Average Time to Process Application: Allow 60 days.
Renewal Period: 2 years active: $110, inactive: $60.
Special License Requirements: Completion of courses in child abuse assessment and reporting, human sexuality, chemical substance dependency, spousal or partner abuse; fingerprint clearance through the Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation; take and pass examinations.
Authority: California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Division 18, Section 1800, et seq. Business and Professions Code, Chapter 14, Section 4990 et seq.
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers ||211023 |