California Occupational License
Department of Consumer Affairs
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||PO Box 989002
West Sacramento, CA 95798
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| E-mail Address:
| Internet Address:
A private investigator is an individual who amongst other duties (1) investigates crimes, (2) investigates the identity, business, occupation, character, etc., of a person, (3) investigates the location of lost or stolen property, (4) investigates the cause of fires, losses, accidents, damage or injury, or (5) secures evidence for use in court.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Be 18 or older.
Undergo a criminal history background check through the DOJ and the FBI.
Possess a minimum of 6,000 hours of compensated experience in investigative work (equates to 3 years of full-time employment).
Pass a multiple-choice examination covering the Private Investigator Act.
Exams are given by a State contracted company known as PSI. If the individual meets the minimum requirements for admittance to the examination after the application has been reviewed and approved, he/she will receive a letter to contact PSI for scheduling. Exams are given five days a week at 13 different PSI locations within California.
Application and Exam Fee - $50
Initial License Fee - $175
DOJ Fingerprint Processing Fee - $32
FBI Fingerprint Processing Fee - $17
Renewal Fee - $125
The initial license is valid for 2 years. Each renewal cycle extends the registration for an additional 2 years.
Average time to process an application is 120 days.
Authority: Business and Professions Code, Chapter 11.3
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Private Detectives and Investigators ||339021 |