California Occupational License
Department of Consumer Affairs
Alarm Company Qualified Manager
Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||PO Box 989002
West Sacramento, CA 95798
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| E-mail Address:
| Internet Address:
An Alarm Company Qualified manager is the individual who manages the day-to-day business of an Alarm Company Operator. An Alarm Company Operator operates a business that sells (at the buyer's home or business), installs, monitors, maintains, services, or responds to alarm systems or supervises such actions. (An owner, partner, or corporate officer may serve as the qualified manager, or may hire someone to fill this role.)
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Be 18 or older.
Undergo a criminal history background check through the DOJ and the FBI.
Have two years (4,000 hours) of paid experience in alarm company work or the equivalent.
Pass a multiple-choice examination covering the Alarm Company Act.
Exams are given by a State contracted company known as PSI. If the individual meets the minimum requirements for admittance to the examination after the application has been reviewed and approved, he/she will receive a letter to contact PSI for scheduling. Exams are given five days a week at 13 different PSI locations within California.
Application and Exam Fee - $105
DOJ Fingerprint Processing Fee - $32
FBI Fingerprint processing Fee - $17
Renewal Fee - $120
The initial license is valid for 2 years. Each renewal cycle extends the registration for an additional 2 years.
Average time to process an application is 30-60 days.
Authority: Business and Professions Code, Division 3, Chapter 11.6
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|First-Line Supervisors/Managers of Mechanics, Installers, and Repairers ||491011 |