California Occupational License
Department of Consumer Affairs
Board for Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, and Geologists
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95833 - 2944
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| Internet Address:
Fees: Application: For current fee schedule, please refer to the Board's website at http://www.bpelsg.ca.gov/applicants/fee_schedule_new.shtml.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Examination Requirements: National Council of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors (NCEES) Mechanical 8 hour examination and Take-Home California State Laws and Board Rules exam.
Renewal (currently every 2 years):
For current fee schedule, please refer to the Board's website at http://www.bpelsg.ca.gov/applicants/fee_schedule_new.shtml.
Examination Frequency: Semi-Annual (April and October) examination cycle. For final filing dates, see our website: www.bpelsg.ca.gov.
Exam Locations: Statewide at designated locations. See website: www.bpelsg.ca.gov.
Experience Requirement: Professional licensure for engineering is based on a demonstration of education and experience. See website: www.bpelsg.ca.gov.
With an Engineering In Training (EIT) certificate, six years of professional level qualifying experience in the branch of engineering in which the applicant is seeking licensure less applicable credit for verified education (if any).
Waiver of the Fundamentals of Engineering exam is available with an engineering or accredited engineering technology degree and 15-17 years of work experience. Please see our website: www.bpelsg.ca.gov for the requirements for waiving the Fundamentals of Engineering examination.
Average Time to Process Application: 3 months.
Authority: Business and Professions Code, Chapter 7, Section 6700; et al.
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Mechanical Engineers ||172141 |