California Occupational License
Office of the State Fire Marshal
Public Display Fireworks
Fireworks or Pyrotechnics Licensing
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||1131 S Street
Fire Engineering / Arson & Bomb Division
Sacramento, CA 95811
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| Internet Address:
Persons firing dangerous fireworks for public displays, special effects fireworks in motion pictures, stage productions and television.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Fees: Fingerprints (DOJ charge) - $37
Basic commercial - $75
Restricted commercial - $50
Rockets - $50
Special Effects (1st Class) - $250
Special Effects (2nd Class) - $200
Special Effects (3rd Class) - $100
Theatrical - $200
Theatrical Trainee - $100
Performer - $125
Examination Frequency: One time.
Exam Locations: Varies.
Experience Requirement: Proven knowledge of installation and firing of dangerous fireworks.
Average Time to Process Application: 4 - 6 weeks.
Renewal Period: Annually (Fiscal Year).
Special License Requirements: References (in writing) from at least 5 licensed pyrotechnic operators.
Comments: License may be denied if convicted of a felony involving explosives or dangerous fire works or convicted as a principal or accessory in a crime against property involving arson or other fire related offense.
Authority: Health and Safety Code, Sections 12570-12578; California Code of Regulations, Sections 981-981.9, Title 19.
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Entertainers and Performers, Sports and Related Workers, All Other ||272099 |