California Occupational License
The State Bar of California
Office of Admissions
Member Service Center
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105 - 1639
| Phone Number:
| Fax Number:
| Internet Address:
Practice as an attorney in the state of California.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Fees: Registration as a Law Student: $92
First-Year Law Students' Exam: $488
Attorney Registration: $166
Bar Exam General Applicant: $529
Bar Exam Attorney Applicant: $769
Moral Character Determination: $431
Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam: $60
Additional fees for late filing and other special programs or evaluations
Bar Exam Frequency: Twice a year in late February and July
Exam Locations: San Francisco Bay area, Los Angeles area, Sacramento and San Diego areas.
Experience Requirement: Applicants must complete the requisite pre-legal education (two years of college work or achieving certain scores on specified CLEP examinations) and three or four years of law study depending on whether they graduate from ABA approved or California accredited law schools or unaccredited or correspondence law schools or through study in a Law Office of Judge's Chambers as specified in the Rules Regulating Admission to Practice Law in California.
Average Time to Process Application: Bar Examination - 4 to 6 weeks
Moral Character - 4 to 6 months
Renewal Period: Once admitted to the State Bar of California, members must pay a fee and renew their membership annually.
Authority: The State Bar of California acts as an administrative arm of the California Supreme Court in attorney admissions and discipline matters. The legislature has established certain requirements for admission to practice law in California as found in Sections 6060 and 6062 of the California Business and Professions Code.
Special License Requirements: In addition to passing the California Bar exam, applicants for admission must have the requisite pre-legal and legal education, pass the first year Law Students' exam, pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility exam with a score of 86 or higher, receive a positive moral character determination and not be in arrears with any family support obligations.