California Occupational License
Department of Business Oversight
Securities Agents/Salesperson Reporting
Licensing Agency Contact Information:
License Requirements, Fees, and Examination Information:
||1515 K Street, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95814
| Phone Number:
| Internet Address:
Individual employed as an agent of a broker-dealer.
Occupations To Which This License Applies:
Fees: $25 for each new agent employment and transfer notification (not applicable to Issuers' Agents).
Examination Frequency: The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), successor to the National Association of Securities Dealers (NASD), administers all qualifying examinations required under the California Code of Regulations Section 260.217. Contact FINRA concerning the frequency of examinations.
Qualifying Examinations: Each agent employed by a broker-dealer must pass the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Examination, Series 63 (Series 63) or the Uniform Combined State Law Examination (Series 66) and meet all applicable examination requirements of the U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC) and the self-regulatory organization (SRO) of which the broker-dealer is a member. (Not applicable to Issuers' Agents).
Exam Locations: Contact FINRA.
Experience Requirement: N/A
Average Time to Process Application: 3 business days.
Renewal Period: Yearly (December)
Renewal Amount: $25 (may be up to $35)
Special License Requirements: N/A
Comments: Broker-dealers are responsible for reporting employment and payment of fees for all agents. Agents must file fingerprint card and information statement with FINRA. All agents employed by issuers are reported by the issuer in its application for authority to issue securities.
Authority: Corporations Code, Section 25210(b).
|Occupation Title||SOC Code
|Securities, Commodities, and Financial Services Sales Agents ||413031 |