Skip to Main Content
Employment Development Department
Employment Development Department

Multiple Worksite Report - Frequently Asked Questions

The Multiple Worksite Report (MWR), also known as the BLS 3020 form, was developed by the U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) to gather employment data showing the distribution of the employment and wages of business establishments with multiple business locations by industry and geographic area. This data will enable our agency to prepare accurate reports on the economic condition of business activities by geographic area and industry within California. To collect data for each worksite, the MWR form is mailed to multiple worksite employers so they may provide the address, monthly employment totals, and quarterly wages for each of their separate locations. For further information about the Multiple Worksite Report, please visit the BLS Web site.

LMI Resources and Data: LMI Home | By Customer | By Subject | By Geography | Data Library | LMI Online Services

Frequently Asked Questions


Why is it important to file the Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020)?
Approximately 6 percent of California employers conduct business at more than one location and these employers make up roughly 44 percent of California's total employment; therefore, the local employment and wage data collected through the Multiple Worksite Report can have an important impact on the measurement of a local economy.

Back to Top

Am I required to complete the Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020)?
Yes. The law requires that employers who meet the criteria to be a Multiple Worksite reporter must complete and return the Multiple Worksite Report form on a quarterly basis. If you receive a Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020) in the mail, you must fill it out and return it promptly. For regulations about the collection of employer wage and employment information, please see:

California Unemployment Insurance Code

California Code of Regulations

U.S. Code of Collection

Back to Top

How long do I have to complete this report?
The Multiple Worksite Report is due 30 days after you receive the report.

Back to Top

What criteria determines a Multiple Worksite Reporter?
An employer must have more than one establishment reporting under the same Unemployment Insurance (UI) account number within a state. An employer's primary location is the location with the most employment. All other locations are secondary locations. Most multi-location employers with a total of 10 or more employees combined in their secondary locations are required or requested to complete the MWR.

Back to Top

How do I provide the correct information on the Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020)?
To complete the pre-printed BLS 3020 form, you must provide:

Please refer to a sample of the BLS 3020 form for filing instructions. To view this form requires the Acrobat Reader software. If you do not have a copy of the Acrobat Reader software, you can download a free copy from the Adobe Web site. Please note that the attached Multiple Worksite Report is only a sample and is not meant to be completed and returned.

Back to Top

Are the data provided by employers kept confidential?
Yes. The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) will use the data collected on the Multiple Worksite Report exclusively for statistical tabulation purposes and may share it with other Federal agencies. The BLS and other Federal agencies will hold the data in confidence to the fullest extent permitted by Federal law. The State of California will use the data for Unemployment Insurance programs and statistical purposes permitted by State law.

Back to Top

What is the reference period?
The reference period is the pay period that includes the 12th day of the month. This is the standard measurement period used for all Federal agencies collecting employment data. The length of the pay period does not matter, as long as the 12th of the month is included in the pay period. For establishments with a Monday-through-Friday pay period, if the 12th of the month falls on a Saturday, it should be taken as the last day of the requested pay period, and if the 12th of the month falls on a Sunday, it should be taken as the first day of the requested pay period.

Back to Top

Can I file electronically?
Yes. If you have locations in more than one state, you may be eligible to centralize your reporting through Electronic Data Interchange (EDI). For details, go to BLS EDI on the Bureau of Labor Statistics Web site, http://stats.bls.gov/cew/forms/mwr_ca.pdf. To sign up for the EDI program, please visit BLS MWR on the Bureau of Labor Statistics Web site, http://stats.bls.gov/cew/cewedr05.htm.

Back to Top

What is the mailing schedule for Multiple Worksite Reports (BLS 3020)?
The mailing schedule for Multiple Worksite Reports is tentatively scheduled for the first week following the end of the quarter.

Back to Top

Who do I contact for further information?
Feel free to contact us directly with any of your questions by:

Back to Top