Information for the License:

Registered Dental Hygienists in Alternative Practice (RDHAP)


Licensing Agency:

Agency or Department Name:  Department of Consumer Affairs
Board or Council Name:  Dental Hygiene Committee of California
Division Name:
Telephone:  (916) 263-1978
Agency Web Address:  http://www.dhcc.ca.gov

License Description:
     (Always confirm this information with the licensing agency.)

Fees: Application: $100
Initial License Fee: $250

Examination Frequency:  Computer-based examinations on California Dental Law and Ethics eligibility is given after application requirements are met.

Exam Locations: In test centers throughout the State of California.

Experience Requirement: Must be licensed dental hygienist with a minimum of 2,000 hours during the immediatley preceding 36 months. Must have completed prescribed classes either through an apporved RDHAP Program or through the Health Manpower Pilot Project (HMPP) and have established an independent practice under the HMPP by June 30, 1997.

Average Time to Process Application: 30 days.

Renewal Period: Biennially (every second year).

Renewal Fee: $160.00

Special License Requirements: N/A

Comments: N/A

Authority: Business and Professions Code, Sections 1922-1931.