All contractors/builders must be licensed by the Contractors State License Board in order to perform work in California. All licensed contractors/builders who engage in asbestos-related work which involves 100 square feet or more of surface area of asbestos containing materials must also hold the Asbestos Certification (Class Code ASB) or the C22 - Asbestos Abatement classification. (Reference: Business and Professions Code 7058.5 and 7058.6). Only the current qualifier on the license may apply for the certification.
Asbestos Abatement Contractor, Class Code C-22.
Application Fee: $75 for the certification; $300 for the classification. Initial License Fee: $180 for 2 years
Experience Requirements: At least 4 years journey level experience and DOSH registration for 4 years; must be at least 18 years of age.
Exam Requirement: Trade exam and Business/law exam
Exam Frequency: Computerized exams given daily at 8 sites throughout the state.
Re-exam Fee: $60
Additional License Requirements: Fingerprinting required if not previously completed for certification, fingerprinting for new license, license bond(s), proof of workers' compensation coverage or exemption therefrom.
Additional Requirement: The licensed contractor must be registered with the Division of Occupational Safety and Health of the Department of Industrial Relations before the Asbestos Certification or C22 - Asbestos Abatement classification can be issued.
Renewal Period for C22 classification: Active: $360 for 2 years; Inactive: $180 for 4 years.
Comments: The Board's publication "Building Your Career as a Licensed Contractor", study guides, license applications, etc. can be found on the Contractors State License Board's Web site at www.cslb.ca.gov.
Authority: Business and Professions Code, Section 7000 et seq.
California Code of Regulations, Title 16, Section 810 et seq.